Town Incumbents Maintain Control


Santino Earns Election

The results are in and Town of Hempstead incumbents have maintained their control of their existing council, clerk and receiver of taxes seats, while Councilman Anthony Santino (R) has earned more than 59 percent of the votes for the position of town supervisor, a seat being vacated by Kate Murray, following her attempted run for Nassau County District Attorney.

“Throughout this campaign, I have been humbled by the outpouring of support and assistance that I have received from neighbors across every community of Hempstead Town,” Santino said in a public letter to the voters. “Thousands of people worked diligently in this campaign and I want them to know how much I appreciate all that they did to make this victory possible.”

In addition, Edward Ambrosino, Bruce Blakeman, Erin King Sweeney, Nasrin Ahmad and Donald X. Clavin, Jr. have won re-election.

The following Town Of Hempstead 2015 election winners are in bold:


Anthony J. Santino (R) 59.77%

Rita Kestenbaum (D) 40.18%

Write-In .05%

Council 2nd District

Edward A. Ambrosino (R) 64.00%

Tammie S. Williams (D) 35.94%

Write-In .05%

Council 3rd District

Bruce A. Blakeman (R) 62.47%

Milagros Vicente 37.48%

Write-In .06%

Council 5th District

Erin King Sweeney (R) 58.26%

Mike Reid (D) 41.72%

Write-In .02%

Town Clerk

Nasrin G. Ahmad (R) 52.70%

Dino G. Amoroso (D) 47.25%

Write-In .05%

Receiver Of Taxes

Donald X. Clavin, Jr. (R) 64.16%

Gina M. Arcabascio (D) 35.81%

Write-In .04%

This information above is provided by the Nassau County Board of Elections, as of 12:10 a.m. on Nov. 4. Visit for the full election results. See page 19A for legislative and judicial election wins.

Leave a Reply