Floral Park Recreation Notes


The Floral Park Recreation Center’s End of the Summer Annual Awards Ceremony was celebrated on Aug. 20. After the introduction of members of the dais by emcee, Elaine Fitzmaurice, the sports counselors distributed souvenir water bottles to all the campers who participated in the morning and afternoon programs that are offered by the recreation department. Mayor Tom Tweedy thanked the staff for their efforts on behalf of the children who enjoyed eight weeks of summer fun at the park. Deputy Mayor Jim Rhatigan, Trustees Kevin Fitzgerald and Dr. Lynn Pombonyo and members of the Recreation Committee assisted throughout the evening with the presentation of medals, trophies and plaques.

The night began with a special recognition award given to John Michon for his 33 years of dedication and service to the youth of Floral Park. During the ceremony, Superintendent of Recreation Kurt Meyfohrt took delight in presenting the Parkies of the Summer Awards to Codi Fletcher and Will Wichart.

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the Campers of the Summer Awards. Mayor Tweedy presented this year’s female Camper of the Summer Award to Emma Kosak and male 2015 Camper of the Year to Liam Cunningham. Major trophy winners included Molly McInnis (cheerleading), Frances Reilly (kickball), James Haselbauer, Jack Nugent, Tiernan O’Reilly, Mike Matich (boys basketball) Sofia Popp, Rachel LeFave (girls softball), Aleski Armas, Ryan Cleere, Anthony Rodriguez, Danny Loumeau (boys soccer), Lauren Dodson, Tara Tam, Julia Manolios, Mary O’Connor (girls volleyball), Kate Lo, Sonya Huan, Grace Lavin, Maris Fernandez (girls basketball), Joey Kosakowski, Evan DeClemente, Dillon Hodgson, Joe Krug (boys football), Chloe Edwards, Mia Savignano (girls soccer), Mark Cunningham, James Krug (tennie ball), Jacqueline Kelly, Nathan Gee, Gregory Tam, Adam Gee, Katie Rudzewick, Ava Alpern, James Goodwin, William Kelleher, Kate Reid, Aaron Yeung, and Honahan Murali (tennis).

The final Championship Thursday occurred on Aug. 20. In the junior division the girls’ soccer champion was the Blue Rockets and the team members were Kate Reid, Chloe Edwards, Grace Locasto, Jody Niles, Aiofe Edwards, Kate Edwards, Emma Gayron, Kathleen Gayron, Logan McCann, Kathleen Troy, and Colleen McGovern. The boys’ junior division volleyball champion was John Jay and the team members included Liam Cinningham, Dylan Diszanza, James Haselbauer, James Goodwin, Thomas Salotti, Aidan Driscoll, Jack Magyr, Joey Kosakowski, Thomas Nelan, Greg Alkusky, Aiden Henry, Braedan Brown and Andrew Vij.  

In the older division the girls soccer participants included Michelle Ashnahian, Marisa Fernandez, Bena Huan, Sonya Huan, Katherine Stewart, Jamie Greene, Kiera Shanahan, and Katie O’Brien. For the older boys team Luxembourg were the victors. Team members included Evan DeClemnente, Jordan DeClemente, William Streiber, Jake Nelson, Robert DelGiorno, Thomas Freely, Joe Gorry, Aidan Walsh, David Hughes and Sean Thompson.

More than 100 girls and boys had an exciting time participating in the Eighth Annual Recreation Center Olympic Games on Aug. 17. The theme for this year’s games was cartoons. Prior to the games, counselors selected their teams and then campers ran relays, played basketball, volleyball, tennis, soccer, football Kan Jam and a water balloon toss. In the junior division, team Toy Story, coached by counselors Aileen Wille and Will Wichart, dominated the competition. Their team won five of the seven events and coasted to the gold medal. Team members were Jack Cannon, Anthony Caturano, Chloe Edwards, Kaitlyn Glowinski, James Goldberg, James Kelleher, Ben Meighan, Anna Segota, Avery Meighan and Kate Reid.

In the senior division, team Scooby Doo also cruised to the gold medal by winning five out of the seven events. Counselor Will Wichart completed a clean sweep by leading the members of team Scooby Doo to victory along with co-counselor, Jackie Morales. The Scooby Doo team members were Jake Nelson, Vishal Mirchandani, Mark Goldberg, Katherine Stewart, Mia Savignano, Sonya Huan and Joe Varner.

Campers for the final two weeks of morning sports were Chloe Edwards, Mia Savignano, Sawyer Platt and Vishal Mirchandani for week 7 and Ben Meighan, Joe Gorry, Avery Meighan and Jamie Greene for week 8.

On the tennis front, the Jim Krug Fall Classic is set to begin the weekend of Sept. 12 and 13. Registered players will be notified regarding their first round match ups.

—Submitted by Paul Meyfohrt

Leave a Reply