Elections Results Are In, Bellerose Incumbents Ousted


Residents voted Tuesday, March 15 in village elections in Floral Park, Bellerose and Stewart Manor. All three villages had uncontested races this year with the exception of Bellerose Village in which Integrity Party candidates bested incumbent Community Party candidates Donna Sherrer, who ran for an open mayoral seat; Laura Tamparo and Ronald A. DeSouza for trustees; and Jeanine Driscol for village justice.

An Independent party candidate also made a challenge in Stewart Manor’s election but it proved unsuccessful.

The results are as follows:

Floral Park

The Citizens’ Party mayoral candidate Thomas J. Tweedy received 582 votes. Trustee Mary-Grace Tomecki, running uncontested for re-election, received 587 votes. Incumbents Trustee Dominick Longobardi received 600 votes and Village Justice Douglas Hayden received 601 votes.

Bellerose Village

Integrity Party mayoral candidate Henry Schreiber received 281 votes besting incumbent and Community Party candidate Donna Sherrer who received 149 votes. Integrity Party trustee candidates John Tweedy and Joseph Juliano received 293 and 278 votes respectively besting incumbent trustees Laura Tamparo,149 votes and Ronald DeSouza, 142 votes. Village Justice George Cappiello received 248 votes besting Jeanine Driscol of the Community Party, who received 189 votes.

Stewart Manor

A total of 440 residents voted, including 12 absentee ballots, according to Stewart Manor Village Clerk Rosemarie Biehayn. Unity Party candidates Gerard S. Tangredi and James Lynch, running for two open trustee seats, received 326 and 396 votes respectively. Independent Party candidate Sally Martino-Fisher received 123 votes.

Compiled by Melissa Argueta

Leave a Reply